About the Bad Axe Theatre
Construction on The Bad Axe Theatre began in 1915. When it opened the following year,
it served as the meeting place for the Knights of Columbus. They had their dedication of the
building on February 21, 1916. Their meetings were held here, as well as dinners for special
occasions. At this time, the auditorium was used for local stage productions, and was also used
to show silent movies. It has had several owners throughout the past 90 years.
It is currently owned and operated by Mark Rolfe. Mark has been employed at the theatre since 1989 as a projectionist
and became manager in 1994. He purchased the business in April of 2004 and has made several
improvements such as upgrading the sound systems in both cinemas and giving the theatre a new look.
Mark wants every customer to enjoy their visit and any input on how to make the movie going
experience a better one is always welcome.
1925 - City Band
1925 - K of C Movie Theatre and Bank